Swim Lessons

Registration is available online (www.needhamma.gov/pronlinereg), in person at the Park and Recreation office (178 Rosemary Street) or by mailing in a registration form and payment to the Park and Recreation office.

Tot & Me Water Play

This Parent/Child water class has the goal of introducing youth children to water and increasing comfort in water. Join us for one or all four of our two-week sessions for 8 great classes (Monday - Thursday)! Register each individual child and not the parents name when asked during registration.

Ages: 6 months - 2 years
Sessions:
1 - Monday, June 24 - Thursday, June 27 & Monday, July 1 - Wednesday, July 3 and Friday, July 5
2 - Monday, July 8 - Thursday, July 11 & Monday, July 15 - Thursday, July 18
3 - Monday, July 22 - Thursday, July 25 & Monday, July 29 - Thursday, August 1
4 - Monday, August 5 - Thursday, August 8 & Monday, August 12 - Thursday, August 15
Fees: $45 for members/$75 for non-members, per session

Adaptive Aquatics

Individual lessons for swimmers with challenges who are not able to learn in a group setting, are offered in the afternoons on weekdays. The Assistant Pool Supervisor of Instructors will work with the parent to schedule ten, 30 minutes lessons.

Fees: $45 for members/$75 for non-members, per session

Learn-to-Swim

The learn-to-swim program is designed for preschoolers, ages 3-4, all the way to adults. Participants progress through the levels at their own pace, mastering the skill in one level efore advancing to the next. All classes are taught using the Red Cross Learn-to-Swim curriculum and are overseen by a Water Safety Instructor. Classes are held rain or shine unless otherwise announce.

Sessions:     
     1 - Monday, June 24 - Friday, June 28 & Monday, July 1 - Friday, July 5 (No Program on July 4)
     2 - Monday, July 8 - Friday, July 12 & Monday, July 15 - Friday, July 19
     3 - Monday, July 22 - Friday, July 26 & Monday, July 29 - Friday, August 2
     4 - Monday, August 5 - Friday, August 9 & Monday, August 12 - Friday, August 16

Levels
Little Sharks
This level of Learn-to-Swim is for our 3 and 4 year old participants. Swim skills are taught through play.

Level 1
The objective of the Level 1 lessons is to help participants feel comfortable in the water and to enjoy the water safely. This level will cover entering and exiting the water safely, learning to submerge their mouth, nose, eyes and breath control, front and back float and recovering to a stand, changing direction in the water, and swimming 5 feet on front and back.

Level 2
The objective of the Level 2 lessons is to give participants success with fundamental skills. This level will cover entering water by stepping or jumping in from the side, submerging entire head, blowing bubbles, open eyes underwater, front and back glide, swim 15 feet on front and 10 feet on back, and swim on side.

Level 3
The objective of the Level 3 lessons is to build on the skills from Level 2 through additional guided practice. This level will cover jumping into deep water, head first entry from sitting or kneeling, submerging and retrieving and object, bobbing, survival float for 30 seconds, treading water for 30 seconds, front crawl 15 yards, butterfly 15 feet, back crawl 15 yards, elementary rescues, and safe diving.

Level 4
The objective of the Level 4 lessons is to develop confidence in the strokes learned thus far and to improve other aquatic skills by increasing endurance through swimming greater distances. This level will cover diving, underwater swimming, feet-first surface dive, 1 minute of survival floating, treading and back floating, 25 yards of front crawl, breaststroke and back crawl, 15 yards of butterfly and elementary backstroke and sidestroke.

Youth Stroke Clinics
This program is designed for swimmers age 8-18 to help refined their strokes and become more efficient, confident and comfortable in the water. Swimmers must have already mastered the skills of the learn-to- swim program.  These clinics meet one hour a day for 5 days (Monday-Friday).